User guides on accessing and using library subscription databases. Also view video tutorials to learn how to use library resources such as the catalog and access databases from home.
Ebrary Academic Complete - 40,000+ academic ebooks in full-text
EBSCO Research Databases - Academic Search, Agricola, Alt HealthWatch, GreenFILE, EBSCO Animals, Health Source, MedicLatina, MEDLIN E
Overwhelmed and don't know where to start?
Try the Starting Research guide for those just starting the research process.
Nursing Journal Databases & Help Guides
CUH login required for off campus access to journal article and ebook subscriptions.
- Search for Chaminade's Nursing journals and ejournals by title.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Comprehensive nursing and allied health research database with more than 770 full text journals and 275 books. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and other allied health disciplines. Includes PreCINAHL, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons & Search Strategies and Research Instruments. Recommended for researchers.
Cochrane Collection Plus - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBSCO)
Full text articles and protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies.
Cochrane Collection Plus - Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (EBSCO)
Bibliography of controlled trials (unbiased source of data for systematic reviews). Includes reports from conference proceedings and other sources.
Cochrane Collection Plus - Cochrane Methodology Register (EBSCO)
Bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. Includes journal articles, books and conference proceedings. Contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies for those preparing systematic reviews.
Cochrane Collection Plus - Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (EBSCO)
Abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world.
Cochrane Collection Plus - Health Technology Assessments (EBSCO)
Completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. The aim of the database is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care.
Cochrane Collection Plus - NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EBSCO)
Information on the costs and effects of drugs, treatments and procedures. Includes economic evaluations (cost-benefit analysis).
Films on Demand
Digital educational video, 5,600 full length programs and 62,500 video segments in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, Health & Medicine. Search by Subject or by search terms.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Collection (EBSCO)
Nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, including nursing and allied health. Also includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide. Recommended for research.
LWW Total Access Collection (Biomedical)
Over 200 full-text biomedical journals for researchers, clinicians, students and teachers from Ovid. Recommended for research.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities.
MeSH Headings Tutorial (video)
Nursing & Allied Health Source (Proquest)
Healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more. Over 715 full text titles plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations. Evidence-based nursing information from The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) with Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries and Best Practice Information Sheets plus Rapid Assessment Protocol internet database (RAPid) and System for the Unified Management, Assessment and Review of Information (SUMARI). Also includes training videos from Medcom, Inc. and CultureVision multicultural reports.
More than 300 online full text ebooks in multiple nursing sub-specialties, including surgery, administration, pediatrics, diagnosis, palliative care, and more. Also searchable from the library catalog. Use Advanced Search and limit by location to NURSING@OVID.
Includes Nursing Subject Thesaurus, Ovid Nursing Database, LWW Nursing Book Collection, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, Nursing Reference Center and Nursing & Allied Health Source.
Nursing Reference Center (EBSCO)
Evidence-based, point-of-care resource for nurses with clinically organized quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, point-of-care drug information, patient education, best practice guidelines, detailed medical illustrations, the latest medical news, legal cases, research instruments, unique point-of-care reference books, and more. Also searches CINAHL Plus with Full Text and MEDLINE with Full Text. For point of care information.
As is stated in your Student Handbook, you are expected to and will be required to provide citations for your coursework.
Check out our Citing Sources LibGuide!